Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: Anyone else in this screwed situation.

Permlink Replies: 175 - Last Post: Nov 12, 2014 9:30 AM Last Post By: William Egge
Dan Ridenhour

Anyone else in this screwed situation.
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Sep 12, 2014 7:44 PM
All,

First a little about me. I have been a delphi developer since there has been a delphi and going back to Turbo Pascal for CP/M before that. I also spent a good part of the 80s, 90s and beyond evangelizing Delphi when possible and pushing its use in shops I worked in. Never an easy task, but one I thought was worth the effort in those days.

Eventually I settled in with an employer and maintained to Maintenance Agreements, one for my employer and one a personal one for my independent projects.

There was a real shaky patch in my this love affair starting with Delphi 8, .NET where it always seemed like what I was needing was a dream, throught or promise for the next release, delphi was always a couple years behind a fast changing development landscape. There were also several mis-steps with Kylix for unix, FPC for iOS, etc. etc.

Through all of this maintenance was 350-450 a year and upgrades were a bit more but not a major difference. It was very consistent and predictible.

After I got XE3 and things I wanted were now still coming down the road I decided enough was enough, and dropped my personal maintenance agreement, deciding I'll pay the couple hundred more to upgrade when they actually get something done. It really had felt like I had been financing R&D mis-steps but little of use for nearly a decade. To this day my primary delphi dev projects are in D7 and D2007.

I kept my Maintenance with my employer for legacy code, and its easier to keep than justify adding it again in the future.

Here is where it gets interesting...