Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: Firedac Aggregate field Use for Master Detail calculation

This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 2. Correct answers available: 1.

Permlink Replies: 3 - Last Post: Feb 24, 2017 11:08 PM Last Post By: Dmitry Arefiev
Eddie Muniz

Firedac Aggregate field Use for Master Detail calculation  
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Feb 22, 2017 5:00 AM
I am new to Delphi, using Berlin. Just started building some database applications using Firedac and some Clientdataset and also Firedac cached updates and really enjoying it. I come from the Dbase, Clipper world and Visual Dbase. This has been a big jump for me despite 30 years of coding experience but like I said I am having a lot of fun with it.

Every so often I run into a bit of a wall on how to do things, not so much how to because I can do what I am about to ask about, but my method is probably antiquated and a much better tool or method exist.

Its very simple, I am trying to maintain my Totals on my Invoices and using the line items of the invoice in the detail file. Of course I have my Master/Detail setup and it works great, Its fully operational. The question comes with how to maintain those totals and whats best practice ?? I can manually calc invoice total based on the items changes each time it happens depending on Add.Edit.Delete . So I researched a bit and found aggregate fields. I know I can use them to perform this operation. I currently use a calculated field in the invoice detail file to show the total of Qty Ordered and Unit Price. Now I would like to get the invoice total to maintain without the need for all the manual coding and I feel that the Aggregate field is the way but cannot for the life of me get it to work nor can I find any kind of clear guidance or example.