Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: Accessing (read) Folder/File Security Information - Get Around Error Msg??

Permlink Replies: 1 - Last Post: Aug 16, 2016 11:34 AM Last Post By: Remy Lebeau (Te...
Bradley MacDonald

Accessing (read) Folder/File Security Information - Get Around Error Msg??
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Aug 16, 2016 9:04 AM
Hello Everyone,

I have an application that scans a directory structure on Windows - and tries to get the Windows Permissions. It works fine - except for a few directories that I do not have access to (even though I am an administrator on that machine).

The program comes back with a OS error 5. If you try to access the folder in Explorer - you get a message dialog that has the message "You don't currently have permission to access this folder. Click continue to permanently get access to this folder"
Now - I know I can get around this in one of two ways - either grant access to my current account - or somehow use the internal Administrator account (which owns this folder).

What I am I am wondering is if there is anyway to allow the program to get around this? The issue I have is that it is a shareware application that will be used by folks on all sorts of different machines. Is it possible to use something like a Windows manifest file to accomplish this?

Any thoughts or pointers would be much appreciated!!

G. Bradley MacDonald
brad_AT_timeacct_DOT_com

Remy Lebeau (Te...

Re: Accessing (read) Folder/File Security Information - Get Around ErrorMsg??
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Aug 16, 2016 11:34 AM   in response to: Bradley MacDonald in response to: Bradley MacDonald
Bradley wrote:

What I am I am wondering is if there is anyway to allow the program
to get around this?