Thread: C++ editor behavior

This question is answered.

Permlink Replies: 4 - Last Post: Sep 2, 2016 4:37 AM Last Post By: Guest
James McKenna

C++ editor behavior  
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: May 31, 2016 12:01 PM
Hi

I'm new to Embarcadero and this forum. I'm finding some frustration with the C++ editor auto formatting, and I can't find the options to change the behavior. I am using C++ in Berlin 10.1 with default editor options.

Specifically:

- When I type "if" followed by a space, the line autocompletes to "if (true) {" but with the cursor between the U and E of "true", and the four characters "e ){" selected (highlighted). Then of course the next character I type deletes those four characters, making a total mess out of the line. I've searched for options to fix this behavior but haven't found it. I've also tried to search the forum and web... but just try to describe that with keywords to a search engine and you'll come back with nothing related or useful... ;-)

- I'd prefer the closing brace on a separate line. I've found an option under "Formatter -> C++ -> Line Breaks -> Line Break Before Open Brace", but it does not seem to have an effect on auto completion.

- Strangely, every single mouse-click, search, etc seems to be considered a "change" when using undo (ctrl-z) - whether or not any actual change has occurred. Is there a way to change this behavior so that only real changes are considered by ctrl-z?

Any ideas? TIA.
Mike Versteeg

Re: C++ editor behavior  
  Posted: May 31, 2016 11:45 PM   in response to: James McKenna in response to: James McKenna
Do yourself a favour and disable autocomplete (and every other option on that page).
James McKenna wrote:
Hi

I'm new to Embarcadero and this forum. I'm finding some frustration with the C++ editor auto formatting, and I can't find the options to change the behavior. I am using C++ in Berlin 10.1 with default editor options.

Specifically: