Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: XE 10 - Bugfixes and Subscription Questions

This question is answered.

Permlink Replies: 62 - Last Post: Sep 30, 2015 5:28 AM Last Post By: Rudy Velthuis (... Threads: [ Previous | Next ]
Adam Hair

XE 10 - Bugfixes and Subscription Questions  
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Sep 1, 2015 6:49 PM
Hi,

I'm currently looking at purchasing XE 10.

I'm a little confused about updates vs bugfixes. I see in a previous thread that since XE8 appears to have changed to a new model, where minor version updates require a subscription.

As a smaller developer I tend to skip a few major versions between updates. This is both due to a mixture of cost (moreso 3rd party components - not just Delphi), as well as being able to release well tested and stable applications. (Knowing what I'm working with and getting a stable product out having used that IDE for over a year). As such, a subscription will actually cost me more in the long run than paying for new versions as I require them because if I upgrade and work with XE10 it's likely I will stay with XE10 for a few years before upgrading again.

I was ready to purchase RAD XE10, but hesitated when I noticed the update policy. I'm now trying to get a full understanding on whether or not I will get bug fixes (not new features) if/as they become available with my initial purchase.

I see that according to the XE8 thread - XE8 "only" purchases apparently got some updates / patches but not all. I'm assuming these were bug fixes and not new enhancements?

I was wondering if the same is going to be available for XE 10 (that bug fixes / patches will still be available free without a subscription), or will I be left completely out in the cold with bugs if I don't purchase subscriptions?