Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: Uses clause does not auto-update when adding components to a form

This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 2. Correct answers available: 1.

Permlink Replies: 3 - Last Post: Dec 17, 2014 2:34 PM Last Post By: ken skuse
ken skuse

Uses clause does not auto-update when adding components to a form  
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Dec 17, 2014 12:10 PM
Hi All

This is a bit of a long first post, but please stick with it. I wanted to include all the details and the background.

I've been programming for many many years, starting on PDP8's I got into Delphi with version 5, and later switched to the now ancient Turbo Delphi (fully registered legal copies on a Vista 32bit laptop and a W7 64bit desktop). These days, as a hobby programmer, it suffices for all my needs. However, Embarcadero invited me to trial the latest XE7, and the starter edition is reasonably priced so... a couple of weeks ago I decided that it really was time to upgrade and installed the 30 day trial copy of Delphi XE7. All went well, apart from exe's exploding from 400kB to 2.6MB from the same source, but thats not the issue.

I'd been playing with XE7 for about a week when I started the IDE to write a small data manipulation tool on the desktop machine. After I dropped some basic components on the form, I found the "uses" clauses wasn't updated, and things like Button1: TButton were underlined in red in the type clause reporting Undeclared Identifier. If I manually typed StdCtrls into the uses clause, everything was fine. Assuming it was some hiccup I thought "oh I'll just write it in Turbo for now", but when I tried to do that (on the same machine) it exhibited exactly the same behaviour. I went to try Turbo on the laptop and that behaved exactly the same as well.