Guest Settings
Help

Thread: compiling apps for the android

Permlink Replies: 22 - Last Post: Apr 28, 2015 7:31 AM Last Post By: john lmast
john lmast

compiling apps for the android
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Nov 13, 2014 12:20 PM
Hi, i come from the turbo pascal xyz through borland delphi 6/7 era. i am new to XE7 and android, iOS and ipad app development, and am considering the delphi xe7 architect and am testing with the trial, but i am having some trouble compiling simple apps for the android LG G Pad 7 tablet. the whole process from installing right up to this point is so overwhelming to me this past week and i don't know where else to turn except here.

so let me get right into it...

1. start delphi xe7
2. File\New and select Multi Device Application, select Blank Application
3. at the top menu bars, click the drop-down list and select Android
4. under Style, select Android
5. under Views, select Android 7" Tablet
6. under Tool Palette, add a TEdit and TButton control to the form
7. under menu, Project, select Compile Project1 (ctrl-F9) = Done.
8. under menu, Project, select Build Project1 (shift-F9) = Done.
9. under menu, Project, select Deploy libProject1.so = Done.
10. click on the green triangle, to 'Run without debugging (shift+ctrl+F9) = Confirm: The selected emulator is not running. Do you want to start it?

step 10 is where i am stuck. it is highly recommended against using the emulator because it is very slow, and i agree, but even when i do select it, it does not compile.

11. But what i want to know is how to compile using the recommended direct-connect through usb. i have my android connected.
12. on the android, under settings, i have the Developer Option un-hidden and USB debugging enabled.
13. on the android, i am under the desktop view where there are room for new icons (or apps) to be added from the xe7.