Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: Finishing up FMX application

This question is answered.

Permlink Replies: 7 - Last Post: Jul 17, 2016 9:10 PM Last Post By: Curtis Manwaring
Curtis Manwaring

Finishing up FMX application  
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Jul 17, 2016 2:38 AM
I've been working for nearly 2 years now converting VCL code to FMX and have a total of about 361,000 lines in the windows version. I was still able to keep using TClientDataSet but used live bindings for the atlas (based on geonames data). I already ported a subset of this program as the Terran Atlas which is also working on native Mac in addition to Windows. I use an old version of InstallShield that came with Delphi 7 and wonder if it's capable of dealing with the user accounts other than admin level. When I install to my iMac (windows side Boot Camp) I have no problems, but installation to other machines gives various errors. One of those is "failed to load midas.dll". I don't know what that's about because Datasnap.midas is in the uses clause (I placed that in the uses where my TClientDataSet resides). I can't add midas.dll to the installation (as suggested by an old outdated article by Cary Jensen) because the MSI generates an error (failed to pick up D-COM).

Does anyone know what files might be missing on a users machine that would be present on a machine with Delphi 10 Seattle? The activity log when running the application doesn't seem to point to anything missing. The other mystery is why I don't have any problems with the Terran Atlas TClientDataSet architecture running on other machines since this also makes use of midas.dll.

As for the InstallShield that came with Delphi 7 back around 2001, is there something better that can handle user accounts without admin privileges? (without costing $1000+ that is).