Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us

For forums, blogs and more please visit our
Developer Tools Community.

Welcome, Guest
Guest Settings
Help

Thread: MesssageBox line of code being skipped. C++ Builder XE

Permlink Replies: 7 - Last Post: Feb 17, 2015 2:51 PM Last Post By: sean collins
sean collins

MesssageBox line of code being skipped. C++ Builder XE
Click to report abuse...   Click to reply to this thread Reply
  Posted: Oct 7, 2014 11:27 AM
I'm fairly new to programming so forgive any gaffes in terminology. I have a few Application->MessageBox()'s in a function and sometimes, at least one of the message box lines are being skipped as if they do not exist in the code, as can be seen when stepping through in debug mode. (It happens in release mode as well). This has happened in more than one project and any help would be a life saver. Thanks.

void __fastcall TForm1::Button2Click(TObject *Sender)
{
//create claims
int lstgrpno=0,lstempno=0,lstdepno=0,lstprvno=0,lstsuff=0,lstfundyr=0;
int clmln=0;
int claimno=0;
double chgamt = 0,
prvpmt = 0,
eepmt = 0;
TDateTime fromdt, thrudt;
String sql, filter;

if (button_flag !=1 ){
Application->MessageBox(L"Add/Modify button has not been run.", PROGNAME, MB_OK);
return;
}
if (Application->MessageBox(L"Would you like to see transmittal report?", PROGNAME, MB_YESNO|MB_SYSTEMMODAL) == ID_YES) {
//RUN'S A QUERY AND A REPORT COMPONENT HERE
}

if (Application->MessageBox(L"THIS MESSAGE BOX GETS SKIPPED AND THE COMPILER WILL NOT STEP INTO THE IF STATEMENT", PROGNAME, MB_YESNO|MB_SYSTEMMODAL) == ID_YES) {
// DOES WORK IN THE DATABASE HERE
}
}

Edited by: sean collins on Oct 7, 2014 11:29 AM
In testing I've noticed that if I answer NO to the first prompt ("Would you like to see transmittal report?"), that the second prompt will appear and allow you to answer yes or no. If you say YES to the first prompt, you will not get the second prompt.

Edited by: sean collins on Oct 7, 2014 11:41 AM
Remy Lebeau (Te...